Jonn @NewStatesman: Who speaks for Europe?

Standard

Loads of people, apparently, they’re just bloody terrible at it. On the frustrating uselessness of Britain’s pro-European pressure groups:

I’m pro-European. I very much want to make that clear. 

I don’t just mean in this article: it’s something I increasingly want to make clear all the time. When I’m talking about politics; when I’m discussing my holidays; when someone tells me it’s my round – whatever the topic, I find myself compelled to tell people that, I know it’s flawed, I know it’s imperfect, but yes, I remain committed to the rather unlovely continental bureaucracy hanging around at the far end of the Eurostar. 

The reason I’m beset by this urge to tell all and sundry that I’m pro-European is simple: no one else seems to share it.

You can read the rest here.

Leave a Reply

